Construction of a fish breeding station at the Max Planck Institute for Neurobiology

Fish-Facility-kaiotto-mpi-01.jpg Fish-Facility-kaiotto-mpi-03.jpg Fish-Facility-kaiotto-mpi-02.jpg Fish-Facility.kaiotto-mpi-04.jpg Fish-Facility-kaiotto-mpi-06.jpg Fish-Facility-kaiotto-mpi-07.jpg Fish-Facility-kaiotto-mpi-05.jpg

In the basement of Building O of the Max Planck Institute for Neurobiology in Martinsried a fish breeding station has been built. The fish department consists of a large fish room, a technical room for water treatment, as well as associated laboratories and offices.

The aquariums in which zebrafish are bred contain a total of approx. 12,000 litres of water with a water temperature of 28°C. The fish are kept in a large fish room. The water is provided by a reverse osmosis system and treated in the water technology room. Since the animals are genetically modified, the waste water must be led through a thermal disinfection.

The fish room is operated with an air temperature of 26°C and a temperature constancy of ±1K. Due to the high relative humidity of up to 70% at 26°C, the risk of condensation and corrosion is very high. For this reason, the entire interior of the fish compartment was insulated with vapour-tight foam glass panels. All interior materials had to be corrosion-free. In order to exchange the fish and samples with the associated laboratories on the 1st floor, a small elevator was installed over 3 floors.

Construction of a fish breeding station at the Max Planck Institute for Neurobiology

rebuilding

Client:
Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München

Planning: 2011
Construction period: 2012

Gross floor area: 200 qm
Gross volume: 800 cbm
Costs: 1 Mio. EUR

Project leader:
Manuela Taubenberger

Umbau einer Fischzuchtstation im Max-Planck-Institute für Neurobiologie

Fish-Facility-kaiotto-mpi-01.jpg Fish-Facility-kaiotto-mpi-03.jpg Fish-Facility-kaiotto-mpi-02.jpg Fish-Facility.kaiotto-mpi-04.jpg Fish-Facility-kaiotto-mpi-06.jpg Fish-Facility-kaiotto-mpi-07.jpg Fish-Facility-kaiotto-mpi-05.jpg

Im Untergeschoss des Gebäudes O des Max-Planck-Instituts für Neurobiologie in Martinsried wurde eine Fischzuchtstation umgebaut. Die Fischabteilung besteht aus einem großen Fischraum, einem Technikraum für die Wasseraufbereitung sowie angeschlossenen Laboren und Büros.

Die Aquarien, in denen Zebrafische gezüchtet werden, enthalten insgesamt ca. 12.000 Liter Wasser mit einer Wassertemperatur von 28°C. Die Fische werden in einem großen Fischraum gehalten. Das Wasser wird über eine Umkehrosmoseanlage bereitgestellt und im Wassertechnikraum aufbereitet. Da die Tiere gentechnisch verändert sind, muss das Abwasser durch eine thermische Desinfektion geleitet werden.

Der Fischraum wird mit einer Lufttemperatur von 26°C und einer Temperaturkonstanz von ±1K betrieben. Aufgrund der hohen relativen Luftfeuchtigkeit von bis zu 70% bei 26°C ist das Risiko von Kondensation und Korrosion sehr hoch. Aus diesem Grund wurde der gesamte Innenraum des Fischfachs mit dampfdichten Schaumglasscheiben isoliert. Alle Innenmaterialien mussten korrosionsfrei sein. Um die Fische und Proben mit den angeschlossenen Laboren im 1. Stock auszutauschen, wurde ein kleiner Aufzug über 3 Stockwerke installiert.


Umbau einer Fischzuchtstation im Max-Planck-Institute für Neurobiologie

Umbau

Bauherr:
Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München

Planung: 2011
Ausführung: 2012

Bruttogeschossfläche: 200 qm
Bruttorauminhalt: 800 cbm
Baukosten: 1 Mio. EUR

Projektleitung:
Manuela Taubenberger