Renovation - LMU canteen

Client: Munich State Building Office 2

Planning: 2018 - 2019
Execution: 2020 - 2023 - Running project
Construction costs: approx. € 19.8 million gross

LPH 1-5: Girnghuber Wolfrum Architects, Munich

Project management: Siegfried Birk

Slideshow Items

Renovation - LMU canteen

Following a Europe-wide tendering process, Kai Otto Architekten was awarded the contract to renovate the Ludwig Maximilians University canteen in Munich-Schwabing.

The canteen, a two-storey, reinforced concrete frame construction completed in 1970, mostly built in prefabricated construction, contains 2 dining rooms and the kitchen on the ground floor. A cafeteria and a crèche, seminar and IT rooms and a large foyer with lettable room fixtures are located on the first floor. The basement contains storage and cooling rooms, preparation rooms for the kitchen, a social area with changing rooms and restrooms and technical rooms. The canteen has a total of 1500 seats.

The aim of the renovation is to transfer the building into a future-oriented condition. The focus is set on the facade and the mastic asphalt floor coverings on the entire upper floor as well as in parts of the basement, the renewal of the building technology (heating, steam supply, kitchen, cololing chambers and the sanitary in the basement) additionally to the renovation of the roof surfaces. 

Since the operation of the crèche on the ground floor of the cafeteria is not possible for safety reasons, a makeshift building was installed and put into operation on Kaulbachstraße for the duration of the construction project. 

The construction work takes place during ongoing canteen operations.

Client: Munich State Building Office 2

Planning: 2018 - 2019
Execution: 2020 - 2023 - Running project
Construction costs: approx. € 19.8 million gross

LPH 1-5: Girnghuber Wolfrum Architects, Munich

Project management: Siegfried Birk

Go to top of page

Sanierung der LMU Mensa

Bauherr: Staatliches Bauamt 2 München

Planung: 2018 – 2019
Ausführung: 2020 - 2023 - laufendes Projekt
Baukosten: ca. 19.8 Mio € brutto

LPH 1-5: Girnghuber Wolfrum Architekten, München

Projektbearbeitung: Siegfried Birk

Slideshow Items

Sanierung der LMU Mensa

Nach einem europaweiten Ausschreibungsverfahren hat Kai Otto Architekten den Zuschlag für die Umsetzung der Sanierung der Mensa der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München-Schwabing erhalten.

Die Mensa - ein vollunterkellerter, größtenteils in Fertigteilbauweise erstellter, zweigeschossiger Stahlbetonskelettbau aus dem Jahr 1970 - beherbergt im OG zwei Speisesäle und die Küche, im EG eine Caféteria, eine Kinderkrippe, Seminar- und EDV-Räume sowie ein großes Foyer mit vermietbaren Raumeinbauten. Im UG befinden sich Lager- und Kühlräume, Vorbereitungsräume für die Küche, ein Sozialbereich mit Umkleiden und Waschräumen, sowie Technikräume. Die Mensa ist mit insgesamt 1500 Sitzplätzen ausgestattet.

Das Ziel der Sanierung ist, das Gebäude in einen zukunftsfähigen Zustand zu versetzen. Dabei stehen folgende Teile im Fokus - die Fassade und die Gussasphalt-Bodenbeläge im gesamten Ober- sowie in Teilen des Untergeschosses, die Erneuerung der Haustechnik (Heizung, Dampfversorgung Küche, Kühlräume und Sanitär im UG) und die Sanierung der Dachflächen.

Da der Betrieb der Kinderkrippe im Erdgeschoss der Mensa v.A. aus Sicherheitsgründen nicht möglich ist, wurde in einer Vorabmaßnahme an der Kaulbachstraße für die Dauer der Baumaßnahme ein Behelfsgebäude errichtet und in Betrieb genommen.

Die Baumaßnahmen finden während des laufendem Mensabetriebs statt.

Bauherr: Staatliches Bauamt 2 München

Planung: 2018 – 2019
Ausführung: 2020 - 2023 - laufendes Projekt
Baukosten: ca. 19.8 Mio € brutto

LPH 1-5: Girnghuber Wolfrum Architekten, München

Projektbearbeitung: Siegfried Birk

Go to top of page